35 Canadian Brigade Group

Unit Identification

35 Canadian Brigade Group Badge

 “Honour and courage” 


35 Canadian Brigade Group is an Army Reserve Formation of 2nd Canadian Division and is headquartered in Quebec City, Quebec.

35 Canadian Brigade Group consists of 12 units stationed throughout Eastern Quebec and a headquarters located in the Connaught Barracks on 3 côte de la Citadelle in Quebec City. It consists of approximately 2200 reservists and 60 members of the Regular Force. Almost 40 percent of its complement lives in the area surrounding Quebec City and 60 percent in the regions. The units are located geographically in Shawinigan, Sherbrooke, Trois-Rivières, Quebec City, Chicoutimi, Lévis, the Beauce and the lower St Lawrence.

It should be added that over 600 soldiers have taken part in a variety of United Nations missions and, in less than 24 hours, more than 900 Reservists were deployed in Montérégie in response to the 1998 ice storm. This deployment within Canada constituted the first deployment of Reservists on this scale since Second World War.

35 CBG provides military training to its Reservists and is actively involved in the community, while making a significant economic contribution to the regions of Eastern Quebec.


Command Team

Commander - Colonel Josée Robidoux
Sergeant Major - Chief Warrant Officer Bruno Gilbert


In February 1942, the Canadian Government issued a directive announcing the formation of 12 Reserve brigade groups in each of Canada's Militia districts with effect from 1 April 1942. These Reserve brigade groups were numbered 31 through 42; the Quebec City Brigade Group was 35. The three functions assigned to the Reserve were: to provide support to the civil power as required, support the active forces available for the defence of Canada and, where required, constitute a reservoir for the expansion of the active army. With the end of the war, 35 Reserve Brigade Group was dissolved on 15 May 1946.

With the implementation of the Total Force concept, the Quebec Militia and all the elements of the Regular Force in Quebec have accordingly been combined under a unified command since 1 September 1992, namely Land Force Quebec Area (LFQA). LFQA comprised three Militia districts. Since 1 April 1997, it has been grouped into two Canadian Brigade Groups (CBG): 34 CBG in the Montreal area and 35 CBG in Quebec City.


For information about the vehicles and weapons used by the Canadian Army visit our Equipment page.

Contact Us

35 Canadian Brigade Group Headquarters
P.O. Box 218
Station Haute-Ville
Quebec, Quebec G1R 4P3

Phone: 418-694-2700

Recruiting queries
Phone: 1-800-856-8488
TTY/TDD: 1-800-467-9877


Date modified: